Saturday, October 21, 2017

Little Deaths

By Emma Flint
Audiobook format

A fictionalized version of the true story of a divorced mother of two young children living in Queens, New York, in 1965. Ruth Malone didn't dress like a mother: she wore low-cut blouses, high heels, and red lipstick. She had relations with many men and locked her children in their room while she went out or drank until she passed out.

On hot July morning, Ruth unlocked the door of the children's room to find them missing. After an extensive search, little Cindy was found dead. As the search for little Frankie continued, the police, media, and ladies of the neighborhood all condemned Ruth without any evidence.

This story is fast-paced and is told from many viewpoints, including the rookie staff reporter Pete Wonicke who became obsessed with Ruth.

This story would appeal to readers of true crime and those who enjoy a good mystery.

~ Paula

The Arrangement


By Sarah Dunn
Audiobook format

Lucy and Owen, an upwardly mobile married New York couple, have a very hectic life. They have just moved into a historic home in the suburbs that needs repairs, they have a young autistic son who requires constant supervision, and 17 chickens.

While dining with friends (who had all had way too much to drink) Lucy & Owen learn that the other couple has decided to make their marriage "open". While discussing the craziness of this idea after they get home, Lucy suggests that they try an open marriage as a 6 month experiment. She and Owen hammer out the rules and then swear not to talk about whatever happens.

The characters are witty & very humorous at times, but in the end Lucy & Owen must decide what is real and what is worth holding on to.

~ Paula

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend


By Katarina Bivald

Translated from the Swedish, this is the story of two pen-pals: Sara from Sweden and Amy from Broken Wheel, Iowa. Their love of reading bonds these two friends together across the miles until Amy invites the lonely and introverted Sara to visit her in the U.S.

This book would appeal to readers who enjoy charming stories about small-town life, bookshops, and awkward romances. Many titles and authors are discussed and recommended throughout the book and, to my pleasant surprise, they are listed by category at the end of the book! This would make a great book club selection.

Read-alikes: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

~ Paula

Shadow and Bone #2 & #3

Siege and Storm (Shadow and Bone #2)
By Leigh Bardugo
Darkness never dies. Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

~Crystal



Ruin and Rising (Shadow and Bone #3)
By Leigh Bardugo
The capital has fallen.
The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.
Now the nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.
~Crystal

Monday, September 25, 2017

The Boy Born Dead


By David Ring with John Driver & David Wideman

Life is full of obstacles and being born dead is unthinkable. That’s how David Ring’s life began in Arkansas in 1953. David’s lifeless body is placed aside for eighteen minutes while the doctor attends to his mother who is near death after his birth. Miraculously, David survives but not without serious consequences.

As a teen, David faces the loss of his beloved mother and his world is shattered. He is bounced between relatives and doesn’t really fit in anywhere. He is angry, rude and unapproachable. He faces bullying at school and horrendous abuse at home, enough to lead him to try suicide.

The local pastor encourages his son to befriend David and he tries - but how do you make friends with someone who won’t even speak? This struggling friendship starts a journey that is remarkable and extraordinary.

~ Dixie

Dead, TO BEGIN WITH

By Bill Crider

I think I may have found a new author to read.

This mystery doesn’t give away the “who done it” till the very end, is sprinkled with humor and suspense. County Sherriff Dan Rhodes has to put up with employees that are long winded and whiney; adding to the frustrations of his job. A wealthy man has fallen to his death and it falls on Sherriff Rhodes to determine if someone helped him to his death. Interviewing suspects is difficult due to the fact that they seem to be covering up something. Like any good mystery the truth comes out in the end.

I hope you will enjoy reading Dead, TO BEGIN WITH as much as I have.

~ Beckie H.

Monday, August 21, 2017

Manny the Frenchies Art of Happiness

By Manny the Frenchie

In 2011, Manny was the runt of the litter and on his way to a shelter. But when his parents scooped him up, named him after the world famous boxer, Manny Pacquiao, and began posting photos of him sleeping in their sink accompanied by humorous, optimistic captions, Manny went viral.


~Crystal

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2)

By Cassandra Clare

A Shadowhunter’s life is bound by duty, constrained by honor. The word of a Shadowhunter is a solemn pledge, and no vow is more sacred than the vow that binds parabatai, warrior partners—sworn to fight together, die together, but never to fall in love.
When Downworlders turn against the Clave, a new threat rises in the form of the Lord of Shadows—the Unseelie King, who sends his greatest warriors to slaughter those with Blackthorn blood and seize the Black Volume. As dangers close in, Julian devises a risky scheme that depends on the cooperation of an unpredictable enemy. But success may come with a price he and Emma cannot even imagine, one that will bring with it a reckoning of blood that could have repercussions for everyone and everything they hold dear.


~Crystal

Shadow and Bone (Shadow and Bone #1)

By Leigh Bardugo

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything, but when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling. Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems.

~Crystal

Sunday, July 23, 2017

The Witch's Daughter

Image result for witch's daughter brackstonby Paula Brackston

In the spring of 1628, the Witchfinder of Wessex finds himself a true Witch. As Bess Hawksmith watches her mother swing from the Hanging Tree she knows that only one man can save her from the same fate at the hands of the panicked mob: the Warlock Gideon Masters, and his Book of Shadows. Gideon instructs Bess in the Craft, awakening formidable powers she didn't know she had and making her immortal. She couldn't have foreseen that even now, centuries later, he would be hunting her across time, determined to claim payment for saving her life.
In present-day England, Elizabeth has built a quiet life for herself, tending her garden and selling herbs and oils at the local farmers' market. But her solitude abruptly ends when a teenage girl called Tegan starts hanging around. Against her better judgment, Elizabeth begins teaching Tegan the ways of the Hedge Witch, in the process awakening memories—and demons—long thought forgotten.

~Crystal

Friday, July 21, 2017

Awkward:

Image result for awkward the science of why we're sociallyThe Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome
By Ty Tashiro

Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential—and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

~Crystal

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Happy Little Accidents

Image result for wit and wisdom of bob rossThe Wit & Wisdom of Bob Ross
By Michelle Witte

“Anything we don't like, we'll turn it into a happy little tree or something; we don't make mistakes, we just have happy accidents.”
Bob Ross, the soft-spoken artist painting happy clouds, mountains, and trees has captivated us for years with the magic that takes place on his canvas in twenty-six television minutes—all while dispensing little branches of wisdom. His style and encouraging words are a form of therapy for the weary, but with Bob it is always about more than painting. There is a hidden depth within his easy chatter, another layer to everything he says. When he talks about painting, he's using it as a metaphor for life!

~Crystal

Monday, July 17, 2017

The Little French Bistro

by Nina George

I picked up this book because of the title – little French bistro, and found a delightful read. It’s about love and loss, aging and sorrow, sexuality and finding yourself.

Marianne is married to a man who never showed any sign of appreciating her. While on vacation in Paris, she runs away from him. She ends up in Brittany, where she finds people who help her blossom. Her husband tracks her down , and she has to decide whether to stay or return to her former life.

~Rochelle

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Textbook

Image result for textbook amy krouse rosenthalby Amy Krouse Rosenthal

If you’re looking for a book that will make you think about life from different angles, then this is the book for you. In her book, Rosenthal redefines the idea of the standard college textbook and uses this theme to create a book that encourages readers to think about their own life, the idea of serendipity, coincidence, how we are all connected in interesting ways, and the strange, odd, and exotic world we all live in.

Perhaps one of the most unique aspects of this book is the way in which the author enables the reader to interact with the book through text messaging, email, and the book’s website. For example, Rosenthal encourages readers to submit their own stories of serendipity, to text pictures of rainbows for the online rainbow map, to post self-portraits, and more.

As a side note, sadly, Rosenthal has recently passed away. Knowing this information may make you feel more emotional about the subjects she writes about in the book; however the connection the author provides through texting and the website feature is still active. A book that will make you laugh, cry, and ponder life and the world around you—definitely worth the read.

~Christina

Saturday, June 17, 2017

A Dog's Purpose

Image result for a dog's purpose movie
A dog looks to discover his purpose in life over the course of several lifetimes and owners.

This is a wonderful movie, but a tearjerker throughout its entirety.

~Crystal